By Sebastiaan Hoogewerf

Upgraded laptop monitor to 42inch Plasma!!

dsc01172

Finally i managed to link my Sony Vaio laptop with my 42inch Samsung Plasma screen.

It was a long journey through electronic shops and internet to find out what the best way was to connect my laptop with the tv.

There are 3 ways;

By using  s-video cable

By using VGA cable

Or by using HDMI cable

So first i checked all my options on my laptop and tv and then went a for VGA connection as my laptop is not yet equiped with HDMI port.

Finally found a cable and plugged it in,but no actoion!

The icon for pc was not highlighted on my tv,so he didnt recognize any equipment as source.

Changed resolution etc,but stil no result.

dsc01189

 

Final ption,check google!

Found out that i was sharing this problem with thousands of people,so i search through blogs for a answer.More than 10 possible solutions i found and all didnt work!

Then i pulled out the plug and looked in the cable if i could find something out,and yes, i saw that my cable was equiped with 3 pins less.

So following day went to the electronic shop again and asked for a High Quality VGA cable.

Luckely the sales man came ,with  a famous cabling brand (MONSTER-Cables) .

It was was offcourse 6 x more expensive as my previous non-working cable,but it thought,if this one isnt working,than nothing is workig!

Back home hooked it up and Voila!

The tv automaticly switched to pc mode and resized the screen,and there we go, a fully sharp 42inch computer screem is born!!

I finally can take the maximum out of my tv set ,internetting and watching downloaded movies is way more fun now!!! 

dsc01188

One response

  1. You’re posting very detailed,Pay tribute to your account. Perusing this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I’ll forward the next few paragraphs to him. Convinced he may have a very good read. Thanks for sharing!

    February 6, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Leave a Reply

